In keeping with the Catholic tradition, religion classes are taught to prepare the students for upcoming sacraments.

What are the Sacraments?  The Sacraments are “actions of the Holy Spirit in his Body, the Church.  They are the ‘masterworks of God’ in the new and everlasting covenant” [Catechism 1116]. “The purpose of the sacraments,” wrote the Fathers of the Second Vatican Council, “is to sanctify human beings, to build up the Body of Christ, and, finally, to give worship to God….They not only presuppose faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen, and express it.”

In the Catholic Church, there are seven Sacraments grouped in to three areas as follows:

Initiation:  Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist
Healing:  Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick
Vocation:  Marriage, Holy Orders

Reconciliation and First Holy Communion

Reconciliation and First Holy Communion are received during the second grade.

Sacrament of Confirmation

Eighth graders receive the Sacrament of Confirmation.